Preparing garden beds

Flowers always make people better, happier, and more helpful; sunshine, food and medicine for the soul……….Luther Burbank

Had a great day in the garden yesterday, getting the raised beds ready for soil amendments.  We don’t have many weeds in the raised beds and the ones that do come up are very easily pulled out because the soil is so nice and loose, that’s one of the things I really like about having raised garden beds. I had to gently remove all the irrigation lines we had in there and I’ll get more into that at another point and tell you all about how my husband did the irrigation which is a godsend during the summer months.

I don’t like to disturb the soils complex subsoil environment for the benefits of growing plants. Amendments such as compost, manure, peat, lime and organic  fertilizer are just added to the top of the soil about 2 inches in depth, this will be incorporated into the subsoil  by watering and the activity of subsoil organisms. There is no need to dig anything into the soil which is something I love.  Being this is going to be my first time making an amendment to the soil, I’m going to go with mushroom  compost, organic potting soil and some manure.  I’m not sure of the ratios yet, will let you all know when I’m ready to add.

A nice big wasp was flying in and out of the greenhouse yesterday trying to find a place to make a nest,  we’ll see if he still around today.  Bees are our friends, but I by no means want them in my greenhouse!

My husband is in the process of making a little enclosure at one of the beds just as you come In to the fence door at the side of the house to hide the garbage pail and recycle pale  He put the two post fittings in yesterday and will add a trellis ,which I would like to grow sometime on like maybe roses or clematis. Will post pictures later.

In the meantime, here are some more greenhouse goodies.

Potatoes are starting to look great!   I love planting them in these potato Bags,  you can easily find them online I haven’t seen them in a store around here yet . I’m going to do my red onions the same way.  Onions are a first for me,  I never grew them. Right now I have them planted in several nursery pots and it’s time to move them.

image.jpeg

It was so hot in the greenhouse yesterday wasn’t even noon and it was almost 83° so I decided to put my other fan in there and put another shade cloth on top of the greenhouse and I water the heck out of the inside and the  temperature dropped it to mid 70s which is fine ,so that’s something I learned.  I think I’m going to leave it for now it because it definitely helps lower the heat .

image.jpeg

Did you know you can save a ton of money by just using generic store plastic cups to transplant your seedlings and some painters tape rather then those expensive little plastic sticks?  I don’t think I’ll ever go back.  Just remember to make a hole in the bottom  of the cup for drainage which can be easily done with the drill or something with a sharp point.

 

Leave a Reply

