Fence continued

A garden requires patient labor and attention. Plants do not grow merely to satisfy ambitions or to fulfill good intentions. They thrive because someone expended effort on them……..Liberty Hyde Bailey

OK so yesterday the “garbage pale hiding” fence was done and it doesn’t look like much now but I have plans for it. I was thinking of having yellow climbing roses and purple clematis growing on it together.

image

I have to fashion some type of grid on the fence so I can tie the plants on and ‘Weave” them on to the grid with the growing stems until they reach the top. I did purchase a purple clematis but it’s not going to be the proper one for this project because it’s the type you cut to the ground, after flowering, another words the flowers form on all new growth. I need to find one that either grows on the previous years wood or the other sort that grows on the new growth as well as the previous years growth. I think I Will be looking for the one that grows on the previous years wood because I don’t want to have to worry about getting the old wood out once it’s become intertwined with the rose.

I have more to think about here.

Leave a Reply

