A little of this, a little of that

Gardening is an exercise in optimism. Sometimes, it is a triumph of hope over experience.
….Marina Schinz

 

Yesterday I took a good number of plants out of the greenhouse because the temps in there were almost 93! The outside temps were between 60-70’s so out they went for a nice breath of fresh air. I checked on them this morning and everyone looks mighty happy.

I had the planter in the lower right picture in the cold greenhouse over the winter and I just love the mossy patina it has on it, I hope it stays.

I also took the plunge and planted some of my squash, zucchini, watermelon, cantaloupe and cucumber on the cattle panel trellis. I can’t wait to see how it progresses. I am not worried about cross-pollunation, because I am not going to be using any seeds that these plants may produce.

This video gives more detailed information on the subject.

They look so small on that big cattle panel trellis, but I have no doubt they are going to go crazy now that they are out of those little nursery pots.

 

 

Big squash blossom as of this morning. Too bad no male flowers to pollinate.

IMG_4056

After I planted them, I gave them a good drink of water mixed with fish fertilizer. I have been seeing good reviews on this one…boy does it smell bad! Will see how it does on my plants. I got it on Amazon.8446BAAA-9F9E-43BB-8ACF-EFA9614C0B00 2Today, I will be putting the rest of the mushroom compost on some beds (don’t have enough for all the beds, need to go get more), and begin to plant a few veggies in the beds already amended.  I think peppers, which are a good size now and some additional squash. I have another trellis that I want to grow more of the squash on, and I think I can plant some tomatoes! I have three varieties – Beefsteak (Indeterminate), Roma (Determinate) and Zebra (indeterminate)

The most simple explanation of the difference between determinate and indeterminate tomatoes is that determinate tomatoes bear their crop all at once, while indeterminate Tomatoes bear fruit over the course of a season. Indeterminate varieties tend to grow longer vines and will require more support in terms of staking or caging over the course of a season. Determinate varieties often (but not always) tend to be more compact and manageable.

A word on Zebra Tomato, which look so cool. I got the seeds last year and didn’t have much success. I am trying again, hope to get some of these beauties growing good!prod002001

Green Zebra is actually the result of four heirlooms bred together. Whatever, it’s a beauty, with exquisite emerald green skin, dark green vertical stripes, and gently flavorful green flesh. Ready to be eaten fresh or canned and enjoyed year-round. High-yielding indeterminate plants produce oodles of 1 1/2-2 1/2″ fruits.

 

5E238C3A-6642-49DC-B7AE-2F1C32B95690 2

This is my sad, sad little Philodendron, which I bought last year and never got around to planting. I am going to get it out of that pot, into the ground and will post a picture of it in a month or so, we can see how it’s doing. I pruned it in the fall and it spent the winter in the cold greenhouse, time to wake up there little plant!

Things are budding around the garden, and it’s such a pleasure seeing plants wake up from their winter’s sleep.  Patio peach on the left Blueberry on the right.

I have been logging all my plants on a spreadsheet with pictures and the plant’s details. My hope in doing this is to first keep a record of what I planted this season and make notes on what did and did not work. The other is to help me figure out how to best arrange my flower beds. Size, color and what would look best together. I am still finishing up getting all the plants listed and than I can start to plan the beds.

Ok, time to get out and start my day, more tomorrow.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

