Veggie Planting done – Yay!

 

We must cultivate our own garden. When man was put in the garden of Eden he was put there so that he should work, which proves that man was not born to rest…. Voltaire

 

Got all my veggies planted – so happy! Going from top left to bottom right. Tomato bed, has two of each – Beefsteak, Plum and Green Zebra. Bok Choy, Broccoli Rapini, Kale. Collards, Brussel Sprout and Eggplant. Eggplant and sweet pepper. eggplant, sweet pepper, squash and cantaloupe. Squash and Fennel.

The other day, I noticed tons of bugs on my Trug.

IMG_2653

I mean these guys were all over the left and right side, top and bottom and they also in the soil. I was thinking of a fast way to get rid of them,because I wanted to plant this bed, so I put up a large pot of water on the stove and got the water to a bear boil. I ladled the hot water on and around where the ants were crawling, and I did manage to get rid of a lot of them, or so I thought. A few hours later I still saw many, although not as many as before. I heard from reading online that ants didn’t like cinnamon, so I went back online to research this further. I found out that not only do they not like cinnamon, meaning they will not go into areas where it has been applied. Also, aunts can’t disgust baking soda and if you mix equal parts of baking soda with sugar and sprinkling this mixture on the infected area, will actually kill the ants. The sugar will attract them, and they can’t tell the difference between the baking soda and sugar once it’s mixed together. I used both these methods and I’m happy to report there are no more ants!  I sprinkled the baking soda/sugar mixture on just the two sides where I saw the ants crawling and sprinkled the cinnamon very lightly across the dirt. I am so very happy to say they you do not have to use chemicals in your garden to have good positive results.

The greenhouse is nearly empty now, sort of sad, but getting way too hot during the day. It was over 92 in there yesterday. This is the time of year, we do cleaning and sprucing up the benches with some paint where needed. The greenhouse needs a very light power wash as well.

Got two varieties of strawberry yesterday and will put them up in pots. I plan on rooting the baby shoots, so I won’t have to buy more. Will show you an easy way to do it.

Got all my flower down on a list which I’m sorting various ways. Trying to come up with some plans for the beds.

OMG, the UPS man just delivered some of my plants! Doing the happy dance.

More tomorrow.

 

Leave a Reply

